Bucket Guild | FUBU BH Forums

I Has a Bucket: Preventing bucket theft on Bleeding Hollow | FUBU: A better BH Forum
It is currently Tue Apr 22, 2025 12:27 am



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Mouseover Macros(Fix, Meowth, not QQ!)
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:41 am  
User avatar

Falcon PUNCH! Faggot
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 1:16 am
Posts: 5269
Location: Flolrida
Offline

Alright, so with a few exceptions, my mouseover macros look something like
Code:
#showtooltip
/cast [target=mouseover, exists, help, nodead] Spell
/cast Spell

Now this, casts them at the mouseover target if it exists, otherwise it casts them as normal.

With this patch, this type of macro has a small bug. If you spam it, the first one will go to your mouseover but all following ones will hit you instead. The simple fix to this(some of you may already have your macros in such a way) is the following.
Code:
#showtooltip
/cast [target=mouseover, exists, help, nodead] Spell; Spell

I made this post simply for those who might be experiencing problems with it. If your macro is a bit more complicated than that, post it here and I'l try and fix it.


Image
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 4:28 am  
User avatar

Querulous Quidnunc
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 9:34 pm
Posts: 2369
Offline

The first one you are telling it try and cast the first spell, then cast the second regardless.


Druid: Meowth
« Steam »« Xfire »
Glorious Death Metal Music
Image
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 5:10 am  
User avatar

Falcon PUNCH! Faggot
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 1:16 am
Posts: 5269
Location: Flolrida
Offline

Meowth wrote:
The first one you are telling it try and cast the first spell, then cast the second regardless.

That's not the point I'm making.
Yes, if there is a mouseover target, it takes priority. If there is not one, then it casts it on what it would otherwise.
What I'm saying is, using the first macro, you mouseover party3 and spam the heal. The first time it will hit party3 and all others will hit you or your target even though you still have the same mouseover.
This was never a problem before this patch.

Something with the new ability queue system doesn't like macros. I have snake trap and explosive trap macro'd together and if use trap launcher, it won't allow me to launch either one if it's on a macro.

I was simply posting this for those who might have been having a problem with this. Both macros do exactly the same thing, currently only the second works though.




If you're saying what I think you're saying then by your logic
Code:
#showtooltip
/cast Mutilate
/cast Eviscerate

spamming such a macro would yield Mut, Evis, Evis, Evis, Etc.

Edit: So after some testing, it does indeed Mut, Evis, Evis, Etc.
Seems to me they're just taking a step back here, I could be wrong, but didn't they break macros like that before?(lolhunter1button)

Edit: So after additional testing, it seems macros are using the first ability in a macro and if you keep spamming it, it will use the last in the macro.

Code:
#showtooltip
/cast Spell 1
/cast Spell 2
/cast Spell 3

^ Will cast spell 1 and then spam/alternate between 3 and 1. Depending on cooldowns and GCDs this also changes yet again.
Example:
Code:
#showtooltip
/cast Mortal Strike
/cast Execute

In theory, should use Mortal Strike and then Execute, probabaly spam execute till Mortal Strike comes off cooldown.

Once again, they added this ability queue system to fix an exploit I believe, yet they only opened the way for more broken macros. This leads me to believe that unless they can get rid of the exploit in another way, they'll probabaly do something even more drastic to counter people exploiting this new macro system.


Image
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 10:55 am  
User avatar

Pinheaded Pissant
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 12:29 pm
Posts: 1515
Location: Boston, MA
Offline

well the problem is that you should have made your macro like this in the first place

/cast [@mouseover,help,nodead][exists] Spell


the first exists in the mouseover is redundant logic, and instead of having the second line trigger you just have the second conditional trigger.


Image

Akina: bitch I will stab you in the face
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 11:42 am  
User avatar

Falcon PUNCH! Faggot
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 1:16 am
Posts: 5269
Location: Flolrida
Offline

dek wrote:
well the problem is that you should have made your macro like this in the first place

/cast [@mouseover,help,nodead][exists] Spell


the first exists in the mouseover is redundant logic, and instead of having the second line trigger you just have the second conditional trigger.

I don't get what you're saying.

Testing your macro out, it doesn't do what mine does.
Mine, prioritizes the mouseover target. If one doesn't exist, it casts it on my target or if the target is hostile, auto self cast. Yours will only cast on a mouseover. Nice try though.

I could shorten mine by doing @focus instead, which I might cause it looks way cooler.


Image
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 1:12 pm  
User avatar

Pinheaded Pissant
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 12:29 pm
Posts: 1515
Location: Boston, MA
Offline

Necrachilles wrote:
dek wrote:
well the problem is that you should have made your macro like this in the first place

/cast [@mouseover,help,nodead][exists] Spell


the first exists in the mouseover is redundant logic, and instead of having the second line trigger you just have the second conditional trigger.

I don't get what you're saying.

Testing your macro out, it doesn't do what mine does.
Mine, prioritizes the mouseover target. If one doesn't exist, it casts it on my target or if the target is hostile, auto self cast. Yours will only cast on a mouseover. Nice try though.

I could shorten mine by doing @focus instead, which I might cause it looks way cooler.


well, then this

/cast [@mouseover,help,nodead][help,nodead][@player] Spell


it's a simple fail through. first condition fails, it goes to the second. second fails, it goes to the third.

my second conditional wasn't set to check if your target was hostile or not, just if you had one.

edit: and the reason you should use that instead is because the older macro posted worked indirectly, but not through the expected macro logic. it worked because nothing in it broke it, but it isn't how it's expected to be written.

thus, when they make api changes, mine will continue to work because it's the real version, and yours might or might not work because it just happens to work.

obviously, they changed the api so the original macro no longer ever went to the second line of code, which i don't think it would be intended to (if the first line fails, it just fails, unless the first line doesn't use the gcd).


Image

Akina: bitch I will stab you in the face
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 1:26 pm  
User avatar

Querulous Quidnunc
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 9:34 pm
Posts: 2369
Offline

It's acting different now because of the annoying bullshit spell queue system that has been implemented. Make macros right or gtfo!


Druid: Meowth
« Steam »« Xfire »
Glorious Death Metal Music
Image
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 3:22 pm  
User avatar

Falcon PUNCH! Faggot
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 1:16 am
Posts: 5269
Location: Flolrida
Offline

dek wrote:
Necrachilles wrote:
dek wrote:
well the problem is that you should have made your macro like this in the first place

/cast [@mouseover,help,nodead][exists] Spell


the first exists in the mouseover is redundant logic, and instead of having the second line trigger you just have the second conditional trigger.

I don't get what you're saying.

Testing your macro out, it doesn't do what mine does.
Mine, prioritizes the mouseover target. If one doesn't exist, it casts it on my target or if the target is hostile, auto self cast. Yours will only cast on a mouseover. Nice try though.

I could shorten mine by doing @focus instead, which I might cause it looks way cooler.


well, then this

/cast [@mouseover,help,nodead][help,nodead][@player] Spell


it's a simple fail through. first condition fails, it goes to the second. second fails, it goes to the third.

my second conditional wasn't set to check if your target was hostile or not, just if you had one.


Well see, your recent macro works the exact same way as mine did before except it's all in one line. The first one, ONLY worked if I had a mouseover, otherwise it didn't do shit. The target being hostile or not was irrelevant.

My macros were just outdated ones that I slowly tweaked as I needed too. I made those like at least a year ago. My macro building skills have slowly improved and I updated a few of my druid's healing macros to only be one line, some I never needed to update.

Code:
#showtooltip
/cast [target=mouseover, help, exists][target=target, exists, help][target=player] Wild Growth

and the only other's that are more complex than that were my paladin/shamans advanced focus macros.

Point is, my macros got the job done with no problem and the new ability queue system can suck my nuts!


Image
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

World of Warcraft phpBB template "WoWMoonclaw" created by MAËVAH (ex-MOONCLAW) (v3.0.8.0) - wowcr.net : World of Warcraft styles & videos
© World of Warcraft and Blizzard Entertainment are trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment, Inc. in the U.S. and/or other countries. wowcr.net is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment.
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group